Institute Advisors

The Senior Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences and John and Gertrude Petersen Dean of the School of Medicine, Dr. Arthur S. Levine, and the Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor, Dr. Patricia E. Beeson,  share oversight responsibility for the Brain Institute, including joint appointment of the Scientific Director. The founding Scientific Director is Dr. Peter L. Strick. The members of the Executive Committee and the Advisory Council are appointed by the Scientific Director with the advice and approval of the Senior Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences and the Provost. These groups meet quarterly to provide strategic advice and counsel to the Director.

The Executive Committee

An internal scientific advisory board that includes the following scientists and clinicians at Pitt:

Michael L. Boninger, MD, ​Professor and UPMC Endowed Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation; Senior Medical Director for Post-Acute Care for the Health Services Division of UPMC; Vice President for Medical Affairs for UPMC Community Provider Services

Julie A. Fiez, PhD, Professor and Chair of Psychology

Robert M. Friedlander, MD, Walter E. Dandy Professor and Chair of Neurological Surgery; Head of Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery

J. Timothy Greenamyre, MD, PhD, Professor of Neurology; Chief, Movement Disorders Division; Director, Pittsburgh Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases

Howard B. Gutstein, MD, Peter and Eva Safar Professor of Anesthesiology

Gregg E. Homanics, PhD, Professor, Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Chemical Biology

Karl Kandler, PhD, UPMC Professor for Auditory Development and Plasticity, Professor of Otolaryngology, Neurobiology, and Bioengineering, Director of Auditory Research, Department of Otolaryngology

William E. Klunk, MD, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology

David Lacomis, MD, Chief, Division of Neuromuscular Diseases, Professor of Neurology and Pathology, Clinical Director, Live Like Lou Center for ALS Research

Arthur S. Levine, MD, Senior Vice Chancellor for the Health Sciences; John and Gertrude Petersen Dean, School of Medicine; Professor of Medicine and Molecular Genetics

David A. Lewis, MD, Thomas Detre Chair in Academic Psychiatry; Chair, Department of Psychiatry; Medical Director and Director of Research, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic, Director; Translational Neuroscience Program; Director, NIMH Conte Center for Translational Mental Health Research 

Cecilia W. Lo, PhD, Professor and F. Sargent Cheever Chair of Developmental Biology

Oscar L. Lopez, MD, Professor of Neurology; Director, Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center

Charles A. Perfetti, PhD, Distinguished University Professor, Psychology; Director and Senior Scientist, Learning Research & Development Center

Mark S. Redfern, PhD, Vice Provost for Research for the University of Pittsburgh; William Kepler Whiteford Professor of Bioengineering

Charles F. Reynolds, MD, UPMC Professor of Geriatric Psychiatry and Professor of Neurology, Behavioral and Community Health Sciences, and Clinical and Translational Science

Yoel Sadovsky, MD, PhD, Scientific Director, Magee-Womens Research Institute; Elsie Hilliard Hillman Chair of Women’s Health Research; Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences, and Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

José-Alain Sahel, MD, Professor and Chairman of Ophthalmology; Endowed Chair of The Eye and Ear Foundation

Andrew B. Schwartz, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Neurobiology; Endowed Chair in Systems Neuroscience

Daniel S. Shaw, PhD, Professor of Psychology; Director, Parents and Children Laboratory at the University of Pittsburgh

Sanjeev G. Shroff, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Gerald E. McGinnis Chair of Bioengineering; Professor, Medicine; Senior Investigator, Magee-Womens Research Institute

Alexander Sorkin, PhD, Richard Beatty Mellon Professor and Chair of Cell Biology

Peter L. Strick, PhD, Thomas Detre Professor and Chair of Neurobiology; Scientific Director, University of Pittsburgh Brain Institute; Director, Systems Neuroscience Institute; Co-Director, Center for Neuroscience at the University of Pittsburgh

Jules H. Sumkin, DO, Professor and Chair of Radiology; UPMC Endowed Chair of Women's Imaging

Alan F. Sved, PhD, Professor and Chair of Neuroscience; Co-Director, Center for Neuroscience at the University of Pittsburgh

D. Lansing Taylor, PhD, Director of the University of Pittsburgh Drug Discovery Institute; Allegheny Foundation Professor of Computational & Systems Biology

Lawrence R. Wechsler, MD, Henry B. Higman Professor of Neurology/Neurosurgery and Chair, Department of Neurology; Vice President, Telemedicine, Physician Services Division

Clayton A. Wiley, MD, PhD, Professor of Pathology; PERF Endowed Chair; Director of the Division of Neuropathology.